It seems hard to believe, but Memorial Day weekend, which many people view as the unofficial start to the summer, is now less than two weeks away. As such, many people will be busy in the coming days solidifying either their travel arrangements, or plans with family and friends.
Regardless of whatever social outings you plan to attend over the long holiday weekend, chances are very good that alcohol will be served. While there’s nothing wrong with enjoying a cold beer, glass of wine or specialty cocktail while relaxing, it’s important to monitor your alcohol intake, as law enforcement will undoubtedly be out in full force across Florida looking to make arrests for driving under the influence.
In case you need extra motivation to keep from drinking that last beverage before getting behind the wheel, remember that Florida has some of the strictest DUI laws in the nation.
- First-offense DUI: Punishable by up to six months in jail, and up to nine months in jail if your blood alcohol content was .15 or higher, or a child was in the car; fines range from $500 to $1,000, and $1,000 to $2,000 if aggravating factors are present
- Second offense DUI: Punishable by up to nine months in jail, and up to 12 months in jail if your BAC was .15 or higher, or a child was in the car; if the conviction is the second within five years, the driver must serve 10 days behind bars, 48 hours of which must be consecutive; fines range from $1,000 to $2,000, and $2,000 to $4,000 if aggravating factors are present
In the event you make a mistake and are arrested for driving under the influence over Memorial Day weekend or any other time, it’s important not to panic. Indeed, one of the first things you should consider doing is speaking with an experienced legal professional who can help protect your rights, your freedom and your future.